Thrill Jockey
thrill 036 - 1996

For Record Store Day 2013 we are bringing back to vinyl two landmark albums from Oval : 1994’s Systemisch and 1995’s 94diskont. These albums took the world of electronic music and turned it on its head and caused Oval’s Markus Popp to be credited as the creator of what was later dubbed the “glitch” or “clicks & cuts” style.

The extremely influential 1995 classic album from Oval is finally re-issued on vinyl. Freshly cut to vinyl by Roger Seibel at SAE Mastering the two LPs are pressed on orange vinyl and packaged in a jacket replicating the original. LP1 is the album, LP2 is a 12” featuring remixes from Jim O’Rourke, Scanner, Mouse on Mars, and Christian Vogel. Included for the first time is a free download coupon. Limited to 1,500 units worldwide.

“some of the most serene and aquatic music of the 90s...This record is why Markus Popp was called the new Eno.” - Pitchfork on 94diskont (Top 100 Albums of the 1990s)

94diskont is a document that should be viewed in conjunction with systemisch. The album centers around “Do While”, a 24 minute track originally composed for Oval’s 8 channel, 128 speaker modular sound installation “Wohnton”. “Wohnton” was shown all throughout Europe between 1994 and 1996 on various occasions ranging from art exhibitions to techno raves. With 94diskont, Oval radically re-defined their unique deconstructive methods breaking entirely new ground in the narrow margin between deconstruction and reconstruction, assault and aesthetics, features and bugs. 94diskont is meant rather as an aesthetic than a rigidly theoretical effort, offering a more offensive, yet highly accessible scope of miniature sound clusters, embedded into arrangements far more heterogeneous and conflicting than any of their previous recordings.

On this recording Oval was Markus Popp, Sebastian Oschatz and Frank Metzger.



  • 1 Do While
  • 2 Store Check
  • 3 Line Extension
  • 4 Cross Selling
  • 5 Commerce Server
  • 6 Shop In Store
  • 7 Do While Apple-X

Related Albums