013 500


Thrill Jockey
thrill 013 - 1994

Updated CD version now available.  The CD is packaged in a 6 panel gatefold package printed on chipboard and now includes an extra panel of credits that mirror the first pressing.

Tortoise's self-titled debut incorporates many musical styles and influences and combines them into one very distince sound. So distinct that sometime after the release of this record they became recognized as the leaders of a new musical movement. Tortoise exploits the recording studio, in that they utilize the recording process as a compostional tool or "sixth member", thus creating a boundless parameter in which to create music. Recorded at Idful Studios by John McEntire.

For this record Tortoise is
Douglas McCombs
John Herndon
Dan Bitney
John McEntire
Bundy K. Brown



  • 1 Magnet Pulls Through
  • 2 Night Air
  • 3 Ry Cooder
  • 4 Onions Wrapped In Rubber
  • 5 Tin Cans & Twine
  • 6 Spiderwebbed
  • 7 His Second Story Island
  • 8 On Noble
  • 9 Flyrod
  • 10 Cornpone Brunch

Related Albums