• 01. Anthropocene
  • 02. Reevaluations
  • 03. Night Shift
  • 04. K Street
  • 05. Backlash
  • 06. Ice Fortress
  • 07. Failure
  • 08. I’ll Never
  • 09. Megastorm
  • 10. Insufficiently Breathless
Share Thrill Jockey
Follow Thrill Jockey

Volume X

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 366 - 2014

Customers in North America/Japan/Australia : this is a pre-order for May 20th street date. All orders containing Volume X will ship on or before street date. Customers in Europe : this is a pre-order for August 11th street date. All order containing Volume X will ship on or before street date.

CD version in 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package. LP version pressed on virgin vinyl with printed inner sleeve and free download coupon.


We are offering bundles with a Trans Am t-shirt or zip up hoody.  T-shirt is Next Level brand, 100% ring spun soft cotton printed light blue on blue.  Zip Hoody is Independent Trading Co 80/20 cotton/poly blend.  Logo printed in white on back of grape color hoody.

**PLEASE: Indicate in the order notes or via an email to orders[at]thrillJockey[dot]com what size you want for the hoody or shirt! OPTIONS: UNISEX S, M, L, or XL**


There are three ways of interpreting Volume X, the title of the new album by Trans Am. The first is obvious – it is the band’s tenth studio release, comprised of ten songs that display ten unique sides of Phil Manley, Nathan Means, and Sebastian Thomson. You can also imagine a volume knob being cranked all the way up, the amplification level for an ideal Trans Am listening session. But it can also be read as a representation of the band’s remarkable ability to express, and even embody, unknown capacities, adopting bold stylistic and aesthetic shifts as a defining tenet of their quarter-century long career. Trans Am refuse to rely on their legacy as innovators, opting instead to continue to break down established modes of songwriting, even if they established those modes themselves. Volume X continues in this gloriously contrarian tradition, presenting fans with strange and familiar sounds in new contexts, from kosmische rock to futuristic speed metal to robo-balladry to variants on classic rock that are so warped as to be rendered completely unrecognizable.


“Anthropocene” opens the album with 30 seconds of serene synthesizer ambience before obliterating the stillness with a massive, fuzzy riff anchored by Thomson’s relentless, pounding groove, recorded live in the studio for maximum impact. Volume X is full of these types of disarming moments. Halfway through the sweeping, Kraftwerkian “Night Shift” the song’s syncopated shuffle suddenly becomes a throbbing motorik pulse as two drum takes are overlaid. “Backlash” creeps in with a massive synthesized low-end drone before breaking into a Kill ‘Em All inspired thrash riff that is one of the most aggressive passages the band has laid to tape. And the band saves their most poignant melody for the stripped down slow jam “I’ll Never,” with a vocoded Nathan Means intoning, “Its true, I’ll never get over you.”