Cover Magazine

  • CD No longer available
  • LP No longer available

Thrill Jockey
thrill 104 - 2002

The latest album from Howe Gelb's Giant Sand is a collection of songs (except one) written by others. For nearly 20 years Howe Gelb has weaved a unique and distinctive style, for about the past 10 of those years he's been joined by trusty rhythm aces Joey Burns (bass) and John Convertino (drums). In recent years, Burns and Convertino have become notable in their own right as Calexico. Cover Magazine was recorded live in the studio with the intention of seeing exactly where these 3 men stood with each other musically and as a chance to reinterpret a diverse selection of songs that have influenced them. Though the original artists covered here run the gamut stylistically from classic rock to punk to heavy metal, country and trip hop; all are given the Giant Sand treatment. Black Sabbath's "Iron Man" is reinvented as a sparse lament; found sounds brush up against acoustic guitar, piano, congas and horns revealing the subtlety behind this heavy metal classic. As always Giant Sand are joined in the studio by some of their many musical friends. PJ Harvey lends her vocal talents to X's "Johnny Hit and Run Pauline", while Howe and songwriter Matt Ward return the favor covering PJ's "Plants and Rags." Also on board for this run through are Neko Case, Kelly Hogan, Kevin Salem, as well as members of Granddaddy, who back up Howe on the 3 closing tracks which were captured live on tour in Europe during the spring of 2001.

PLEASE NOTE: Due to a mastering technicality, although listed on the album track listing, the last three songs do not appear on the vinyl edition of "Cover Magazine". As well, the tracks listed for side A appear on side B, and the transverse occurs for side B to A. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause.


  • 1 El Paso
  • 2 Johnny hit and run Pauline
  • 3 Iron Man
  • 4 Human _ Lovely Head
  • 5 The Beat Goes On
  • 6 Plants and Rags
  • 7 Wayfaring Stranger_ Fly Me to the Moon
  • 8 Red Right Hand
  • 9 King of The Road
  • 10 I'm Leaving Now
  • 11 Blue Marble Girl
  • 12 The Inner Flame
  • 13 The Beat Goes On

Related Albums