540 1600
540 y side a
540 y side b
540 sleeve 2.3 out
540 jacket   sleeve side by side
540 jacket side by side back
540 cd w sticker

Earth Trip

Thrill Jockey
Thrill-540 - 2021

For UK and EU orders, purchase from Anost.net


Take an Earth Trip with Rose City Band!  Available on gorgeous super limited wood colored vinyl (SOLD OUT), dazzling forest colored vinyl and some cool limited edition Packs -  read on!  and scroll for pictures.

The Rambler PackSOLD OUT Wood-colored vinyl with a super-limited Rose City Band tote bag, sticker, and special limited-edition rolling papers. We have a very limited number of these packs available - and these will only ship from the US - so if any worldwide fans are interested, check on Ripley's Bandcamp page.

The Porch PackSOLD OUT  Tree Brown and Forest Green. Delux LP package. Colored vinyl, sticker, plus rolling papers. Due to Shipping issues we are only shipping from the US -SHIPPING TO EUROPE  check on Rose City Band's Bandcamp page.

The Hotbox: CD plus sticker and rolling papers.

Deluxe LP packaging, die-cut jacket with 4-color printing on both the outside and inside of the jacket, also with fully artworked heavy-weight cardstock printed inner sleeve and download card.

CD comes in deluxe mini-gatefold. 

Rose City Band is celebrated guitarist Ripley Johnson. A prolific songwriter, Johnson started Rose City Band as an outlet nimble enough to match the pace of his writing as well as to explore songwriting styles apart from Wooden Shjips and Moon Duo. Rose City Band allows him to follow his musical muses as they greet him and not be bound by the schedules of bandmates and demands of a touring group. On Earth Trip, Johnson colors songs with a country-rock twang and a melancholic, wistful undertone. Themes recur such as pining for summers spent in the company of friends to newer meditations on space, stillness and the splendor of the natural world. Johnson’s laid-back and classically West Coast songs communicate emotions entirely of the moment with both his lyrics, intimate vocal style as well as his elegant elongated guitar lines and astute use of counter-melodies on the pedal steel.

Earth Trip was written during the period of sudden shocks and drastic lifestyle changes of 2020, quite literally “called down off the road” as he sings in elegiac album opener “Silver Roses”. Home for an extended period for the first time in years, he was able to reconnect with simple pleasures of home life: hikes in nature, bathing outside and waking with the dawn. Johnson found hope and healing in forming a more mindful relationship with the natural world, from the simple pleasures of tending a garden to sleeping out under the stars. “Lonely Places” in particular captures the sheer joy and freedom of losing oneself in nature, an ode to the wealth of natural beauty the west coast provides, as well as the importance of appreciating wild, open spaces. “In the Rain” seeks beauty and hope in life’s darker moments, while “Dawn Patrol” finds solace in the earth’s natural rhythms. 

Recorded primarily at his home in Portland and mixed by Cooper Crain (Bitchin’ BajasCave), the songs on Earth Trip make deft use of space through their lean arrangements, guest Barry Walker’s shimmering pedal steel, open and elongated guitar melodies, and upfront and intimate vocals. Johnson describes the arrangements this way; “I was trying to capture that feeling when you take psychedelics and they just start coming on - maybe objects start buzzing in the edges of your vision, you start seeing slight trails, maybe the characteristics of sound change subtly. But you’re not fully tripping yet. Cooper got the idea right away and his mix really captures that feeling.” Johnson’s lithe guitar playing treads an equally fine line between country and cosmic, melodies blooming into long reverb trails and solos evocative of radiant summer warmth.

Earth Trip’s message of interconnectedness with the environment expands on a long country music tradition that draws a symbiotic relationship between storyteller and the land, celebrating the beauty of the natural world without forgetting our responsibility to preserve it for future generations. It cements Johnson’s place as a musician and songwriter of inimitable skill.



  • 1 Silver Roses
  • 2 In The Rain
  • 3 World Is Turning
  • 4 Feel Of Love
  • 5 Lonely Places
  • 6 Ramblin' With The Day
  • 7 Rabbit
  • 8 Dawn Patrol

Related Albums