056 1500


  • CD Out of stock
  • MP3 / $10.00 Add to Cart
  • 2xLP Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
thrill 056 - 1998

A Minor Forest formed in San Francisco in 1993 and released a handful of 7"’s, 12" singles and a ten inch before properly releasing their debut record Flemish Altruism (Constituent Parts 1993-1996). Comprised of Erik Hoversten, John Benson and Andee Connors, A Minor Forests’ first record, as implied by it’s title, was recorded over the course of three years by Steve Albini and Bob Weston. While the band compiled these songs to cohesively represent a single record output, Inindependence marks their first foray into the completion of a full length record from beginning to end.

Inindependence was recorded this past winter at Chicago’s Uber Studio with Brian Paulson. A Minor Forest used an array of instruments in the creating of Inindependence in an effort to help fully realize the ideas they had in their heads. Besides the standard instrumentation of guitar, bass and drums, organ, piano, synthesizer, contra bass, double bass, patchbay and turntables were used, though their search and inclusion of a Chamberlin proved unsuccessful. Inindependence begins with "the dutch fist," which contains the intricately crafted chaos A Minor Forest have become known for, thus having the ablitlity to stop mid-song on a dime and begin again without losing any of the songs primal urgency. The album continues head long into a series of songs showcasing both dynamic ("...it’s salmon !!!") and beautifully subtle songs ("discoier") flowing effortlessly into one another.

Inindependence is a soundtrack for the A Minor Forest musical adventure. From start to finish, Inindependence is one hell of a rollercoaster ride!



  • 1 The Dutch Fist
  • 2 Erik's Budding Romance
  • 3 Look At That Car, It's Full Of Balloons
  • 4 ... It's Salmon!
  • 5 The Smell Of Hot
  • 6 Michael Anthony
  • 7 Discoier