Mother's Nose

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 320 - 2012

Mother’s Nose is released in an edition of 300 hand-numbered copies. Each 7” features completely unique and hand-made cover art created by Thank You and their many friends in Baltimore. 7” cover artists include all members of Thank You as well as Asa Osborne (Lungfish, Zomes), Post Typography (Bruce & Nolen of Double Dagger), Andrew Liang, Chris Day (of Witch Hat), Gary Katchadorian, Gerald Ross, Jared Paolini, Alyssa Dennis, Rory Chartreuse, Katie Rose (of Ace of Cakes TV fame!), and Elena Johnston (Bamboo, also Future Islands cover artist).

We now have a very small supply of covers made by Thrill Jockey label owner Bettina Richards as well as covers made by Sam Prekop of The Sea and Cake!

When ordering you are welcome to specify in the order notes your preferred cover artist. We will do our best to get you your choice artist, but there are no guarantees. We will fill these first come, first served.

Baltimore’s Thank You return with the Mother’s Nose 7”, a constellation map of power and imagination from one of the most important acts on today’s art-rock scene. The band’s first 2012 release finds Thank You broadening their palette with vibraphone, mandolin, and acoustic guitar, and growing from trio to quartet with the addition of bassist Steve Santillan (who previously worked with Nicolaidis and Bouyoucas in the Monitor Records band More Dogs).

“Mother’s Nose” delivers a next-level articulation of the tension-and-release sound the group developed on 2011’s *Golden Worry* LP. It’s an incandescent eruption of organized panic, propelled by shimmering guitars, churning rhythms, and esoteric chants. Yet as this A-side feels like the ultimate expression of Thank You’s approach thus far, B-side “The Whale” situates our ears within a new orbit altogether. Here, opiated melodies float over beats more click than clamor, coalescing into an Eno-esque soundscape of harmonic waves and secret horizons.

Together, these songs form a multi-dimensional statement of post-punk purpose as rigorous as it is concise. Both new tracks were recorded at Tempo House in Baltimore with Jared Paolini and Craig Bowen (Lungfish, Growing). The one-of-a-kind, handmade covers for this 7” are the creation of Baltimore-based friends of the band, including members of Beach House, Zomes, Future Islands, and Double Dagger.



  • 1 Mother’s Nose
  • 2 The Whale