Thankyou insert day front
Thankyou insert night front

Pathetic Magic

Thrill Jockey
thrill 12.35 - 2009

Thank You finally return after a year of touring both here (with the astonishing Mi Ami) and abroad behind their 2008 full-length Thrill Jockey debut Terrible Two. The new EP features two new tracks, “Pathetic Magic” and “Strange All”, and is the first recording to feature Emmanuel Nicolaidis behind the drum kit. The B side of the EP features three exclusive remixes from several Baltimore friends. Dan Deacon took time out from his hectic touring schedule to remix a track, Asa Osborne of Lungfish fame lent his minimalist aesthetic to a mix of “Pathetic Magic” and “Strange All” woven together, and Joe Williams (of White Williams) and Jason Urick (of WZT Hearts) collaborated together on a remix of “Pathetic Magic”.

The EP was recorded by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Celebration, TV on the Radio) and Craig Bowen (Ecstatic Sunshine, Growing, Jackie-O Motherfucker). The 12” artwork was done by Baltimore artist Shaun Flynn who has created work for Lungfish, Animal Collective, and OOIOO and performed in the group WZT Hearts.



  • 1 Pathetic Magic
  • 2 Strange All
  • 3 Dan Deacon Remix
  • 4 Joe Williams and Jason Urick Remix
  • 5 Asa Osborne Remix