414 900
Back of rhyton
414 lp label product shot a
414 lp label product shot b


Thrill Jockey
thrill 414 - 2016

LP is pressed on virgin vinyl with free download card.  Artwork by legendary New York illustrator Arik Roper (Sleep, High On Fire, Howlin Rain, Earth, Pig Destroyer). 

First 200 LPs pressed on limited clear vinyl!

Redshift was recorded with the band's long-time engineer Jason Meagher at Black Dirt Studios (Steve Gunn, Purling Hiss, Michael Chapman, The Black Twig Pickers, Jack Rose). 

Brooklyn’s Rhyton (Dave Shuford, Jimy SeiTang, and Rob Smith) are leading experimentalists and improvisers who draw inspiration from unexpected sources. The trio honed their skills in projects like No-Neck Blues Band (Shuford), Pigeons (Smith), and Stygian Stride (SeiTang), and all three have played a significant role in shaping a nationally impactful and enigmatic improvisation movement from New York. Rhyton is a trio devoted to exploration built on a foundation drawn from psychedelic rock, roots musics of many stripes, and modernist soundscapes.  The aptly named Redshift (an astronomical term for the displacement of spectral lines toward longer wavelengths often used to measure the otherwise immeasurable) finds Rhyton expanding its sound and defying expectations by creating a galactic country throw-down. 

The title track, featuring Shuford’s rich vocals and singular lyrics, juxtaposes earthy, country rock against synthetic “alien” sounds. From the complex dissonance of “D.D. Damage” to the Greek-inflected groove of “The Nine,” Rhyton’s music challenges and delights. Shuford plays Greek folk instruments and explores new tunings and other ways of wrangling sounds from his guitar.  At some points, he twists the guitar strings under each other to create a buzzing "snare guitar" sound. Smith studied with Bernard Lee “Pretty” Purdie, known for drumming with Steely Dan and Aretha Franklin, and the results are clear in Redshift’s driving and dirty grooves.  Seitang’s chops are on full display as he connects the disparate dots seamlessly.  On Joe Walsh’s “Turn To Stone,” it is easy to forget that Rhyton is a mere trio. Together, Rhyton takes Walsh’s guitar lines and dissect them at times, searing until they leap off  into an extended improvisation that can only be described as otherworldly (psst … no, that is not a bagpipe, that is Shuford’s guitar fed into a Shiva-strength fuzz pedal through a Leslie speaker!).

Redshift was recorded with Jason Meagher at Black Dirt Studios (Steve Gunn, Purling Hiss, Michael Chapman, The Black Twig Pickers, Jack Rose). Artwork by legendary New York illustrator Arik Roper (Sleep, High On Fire, Howlin Rain, Earth, Pig Destroyer).  Rhyton will be playing select events this the summer, and we know that no two shows will be alike!

Rhyton is:
Dave Shuford  - guitar, vocals, assorted acoustic strings
Jimy Seitang -  bass, clavinet, keyboards
Rob Smith - drums





  • 1 The Nine
  • 2 Redshift
  • 3 Concentric Village
  • 4 End of Ambivalence
  • 5 D.D. Damage
  • 6 Turn to Stone
  • 7 The Variety Playhouse

Related Albums