061 900
061 front in jacket
061 vinyl front
061 back

Sam Prekop

Thrill Jockey
thrill 061 - 1999

For UK and EU orders, purchase from Anost.net


Sam Prekop’s eponymously titled LP is a study in pop nuances. Simultaneously transporting the listener from mild climes and swinging palms to darkened skies and wind blown steppes, the record will be easily recognized by fans of The Sea and Cake. Known to many as the singer and main songwriter for said group, Mr. Prekop is assisted on this release by Chad Taylor (Chicago Underground Duo), Josh Abrams (ex-Roots, Town and Country), Jim O’Rourke (Gastr del Sol) and Archer Prewitt (The Sea and Cake).

Those expecting to find more of the computer beats and trickery found on The Fawn and Two Gentlemen are in for a surprise. Whilst prevalent on "Faces and People" - (a lucious groove overlayed by cornet and guitar), the computer takes a back seat to real strings, drums, piano, electric piano and organ as well as electric and acoustic bass. The subtle grooves, a trademark of The Sea and Cake records, are still present here as Sam and his band blend West African rhythms with a bit of soul, jazz and pop. The resulting record is something wholly original, elegant and earthy. A cauldren, if you will, of sweet smelling and enlightening stew. So line up, grab a spoon, and dig in. All the ingredients and intoxicating aromas necessary for an auditory feast are contained within.

Personnel for the record:
Sam Prekop - vocals, guitar, piano
Chad Taylor - percussion
Josh Abrams - bass, piano
Archer Prewitt - guitar, piano
Jim O’Rourke - organ, backing vocals, guitar, bass
With: Julie Pomerleau- violin, viola, Rob Mazurek- cornet, John McEntire- triangle, maracas



  • 1 Showrooms
  • 2 The Company
  • 3 Practice Twice
  • 4 A Cloud To The Back
  • 5 Don't Bother
  • 6 Faces And People
  • 7 On Such Favors
  • 8 The Shadow
  • 9 Smaller Rivers
  • 10 So Shy

Related Albums