328 1440


Thrill Jockey
Thrill 328 - 2013

CD version packaged in a 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package. LP version includes a fully artworked inner sleeve and free download coupon

Survival is an album of dark and meditative heavy rock. Haela Ravenna Hunt-Hendrix, Greg Smith, and Jeff Bobula have been playing together for over a decade and recorded this album as Survival with Colin Marston (Krallice, Dysrhythmia) at The Thousand Caves. Syncopated riffs, intricate rhythms and atypical time signatures create dramatic and complex melodic lines that provide a bed for chant-like lyrics. The group opperates as a collective, writing lyrics, riffs and singing with one voice. The album is a unique document that harkens back to post-hardcore, Black Sabbath, Magma, Aphrodite’s Child, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Aaron Copeland, The Smashing Pumpkins, and the first wave of math rock. 

The galloping “Tragedy of the Mind” opens the album, triumphantly proclaiming, “Ending begins.” On “Since Sun” and “Tragedy (Reprise)” the group also employs acoustic guitars to create a hushed atmosphere of contemplation and reflection. The final song, “Triumph of the Good,” provides the Survival’s most cathartic moment; as the distorted, almost baroque guitars slowly ascend and get louder the group collectively sings “Forgive us” before all of the instruments line up to create a massive rhythmic assault.

Survival was born out of the ashes of band Birthday Boyz. The songs on Survival emerged after years of retooling and rearranging, with the riffs, melodies, and song structures evolving gradually over time.

The band will be touring the US this summer for the first time to celebrate the release of the album. Liturgy is also in the process of recording material to be released next year.



  • 1 Tragedy of the Mind
  • 2 Original Pain
  • 3 Freedom 1
  • 4 Second Freedom
  • 5 Since Sun
  • 6 Our Way
  • 7 Freedom 3
  • 8 Tragedy Reprise
  • 9 Triumph of the Good

Related Albums