026 500
026 front side a
026 back side b
026 1 side a
026 x white square complete front spread 2
026 sleeve front
026 sleeve back

The Biz

  • LP Out of stock

  • CD / $11.00 Add to Cart
  • MP3 / $10.00 Add to Cart

Thrill Jockey
thrill 026 - 1995

For UK and EU orders, purchase from Anost.net

The Sea and Cake’s third album The Biz is back on vinyl. Packaged with an artworked inner sleeve and free download coupon.

Following the band’s self-titled debut released in Sept 1994 and Nassau released in March 1995, The Biz was the band’s third record in just over one calender year. It was recorded at John McEntire’s own Soma Studios. The instruments were mostly recorded live in only three days. The vocals were recorded by Prekop alone in five days. On Nassau the band experimented heavily with signal processing and on The Biz they continue that experimentation using less common forms of processing, more sparingly. They used a Roland Space Echo, EML-101, and ARP 2600 as both instruments as well as manipulators. Recording withstanding, The Biz continues to showcase the bands ability to mesh together their unusual blend of pop, soul and jazz into one seamless output.



  • 1 The Biz
  • 2 Leeora
  • 3 The Kiss
  • 4 Station In The Valley
  • 5 Darkest Night
  • 6 Sending
  • 7 Escort
  • 8 An Assassin
  • 9 The Transaction
  • 10 For Minor Sky

Related Albums