609 1600 300dpi rgb
609 1 lp front
609 1 lp back
609 1 lps
609 sleeve a
609 back obi
609 x lp front
609 x lps

The Healer

  • Limited Color 2xLP Out of stock

  • 2xLP Out of stock

  • CD Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill-609 - 2024

UK/EU customers shipping please head to Anost

Watch the coke bottle clear unboxing video here

On The Healer, the new full length from Northwest-based trio SUMAC consisting of guitarist/vocalist Aaron Turner, bassist Brian Cook, and drummer Nick Yacyshyn, the group deepens its multi-faceted exploration into the parallel experiences of creation and destruction. Over the course of 4 tracks in 76 minutes, SUMAC presents a sequence of shifting movements which undergo a constant process of expansion, contraction, corruption and regrowth.

This musical methodology reflects the thematic nature of the record - narratives of experiential wounding as gateways to empowerment and evolution, both individual and collective. The group's interpolation of melody, drone, improvisation, and complex riffing becomes a transmogrifying act embodying the depth of human experience. In its highest aspiration it mirrors our ability to endure mortal and spiritual challenges, through which we may emerge with an increased capacity for understanding, empathy, love of self and others. Dismal though the subterranean pits of The Healer may at first appear, from them can be felt the unwavering determination to embrace life, acknowledge interdependence, and honor the gift of existence. 



  • 1 World of Light
  • 2 Yellow Dawn
  • 3 New Rites
  • 4 The Stone's Turn

Related Albums