Toxic City Music

  • LP Out of stock

DE003 - 2017

Edition of 300 copies (200 black / 100 transparent blue) pressed on 140gram vinyl at Pallas in Germany with poly-lined black inner sleeve, aqueous varnish on jacket, and free download coupon.

NYC based artist Evan Caminiti breathes life into the Dust Editions imprint with the release of Toxic City Music. Caminiti has explored electro-acoustic music since the mid 2000's, the latest transmission being 2015's Meridian. While that album was Caminiti’s first to omit electric guitar, he has now returned to the instrument. Here it is buried in an electronic mist and melted down, it's sonic fabric reshaped.

Toxic City Music was inspired by the psychic and physical toxicity of life in late capitalism. Conceived throughout 2015 and 2016, Caminiti captured the sounds of NYC’s machinery and voices before weaving them into his studio experiments. This collection of song mutations unravels in hazy plumes and serrated edges; concrète sounds mesh with disembodied strings and corrosive electronics on "Joaquin", drones ripple under stuttering rhythms and crude synth detritus throughout "NYC Ego". On "Toxic Tape (Love Canal)", layers of digital degradation smear guitar clusters, dissolving into a dubby devotional-ambient space.

The album was mastered and cut by Rashad Becker at D&M and features contributions from Jefre Cantu Ledesma and Rafael Anton Irisarri.

Caminiti will be an artist in residence at Elektronmusikstudion (EMS) Stockholm in September 2017 in addition to performing select live dates in Europe and North America throughout the year.


  • 1 Acid Shadow I
  • 2 Irradiation Halo
  • 3 Joaquin
  • 4 Possession
  • 5 NYC Ego
  • 6 Toxic Tape (Love Canal)
  • 7 Acid Shadow II
  • 8 Toxicity
  • 9 French Cocoon (Mutagen)
  • 10 Acid Shadow III

Related Albums