583 1600 300dpi
583 front
583 back
583 front 2
583 back 2
583 cd 1
583 cd
583 sleeve front w cd
583 sleeve back w cd
583 sleeve back

Was It Ever Real?

  • CD Out of stock
  • CASSETTE Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill-583 - 2022

EU/UK customers can order from Anost.net

Was It Ever Real? Is a super juicy, super limited CD and cassette-only release from The Soft Pink Truth, otherwise known as Drew Danielone-half of the iconic experimental electronic duo Matmos. This limited mini-album (a harbinger of where The Soft Pink Truth is headed) is part of Thrill Jockey's 30th anniversary special limited releases. Four new songs kick off where Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase? left us, hitting us with the aching vocals and throbbing beats of the Dark Room Mix of "Is It Going To Get Any Deeper Than This?", a space age, super sexy, nearly 8-min banger. The EP also features a cover of Coil’s immortal queer classic “The Anal Staircase”, reinterpreted here with slinky hi-hats, a horn section and psychedelic vocal treatments. The closing title track is a slow-burning post-soul instrumental number with twanging lead guitar from Acetone’s Mark Lightcap and harpsichord by Tom Boram. The entire mini-album moves the listener across the genres of disco, minimalism, ambient, and jazz, sliding onto and off of the dancefloor.

Crossfading from hedonism to reverie as it remembers past pleasures and imagines a future yet to come, the EP is also a noticeably social affair, with guest contributions from Matmos' M.C. Schmidt, Daniel Clarke, Id M Theft Able, Rose E. Kross, Tripp Trapp Trull, Koye Berryand Andrew Bernstein (Horse Lords). The resulting music is not retro kitsch but pays homage to highly personal interpretations of disco such as Arthur Russell, Don Ray, Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Bandand Mandré, or the jazz funk of Creed Taylor and CTI Records. The cassette and CD both feature artwork by Robert Beatty (Oneohtrix Point Never, The Weeknd, The Flaming Lips). Released in editions of 500 for the CD. Grab them while you can because these will not be around long!



  • 1 Is It Gonna Get Any Deeper Than This? (Dark Room Mix)
  • 2 You Don't Know (The Full Rose of Dawn)
  • 3 The Anal Staircase
  • 4 Was It Ever Real?


Related Albums