070 500
Field 3 900
Looks 4 copy

Field Recordings From the Cook County Water Table

  • LP Out of stock
  • MP3 / $10.00 Add to Cart
  • CD Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
thrill 070 - 1999

Field Recordings From the Cook County Water Table is Brokebacks’s debut album, originally released in 1999. Sold out on vinyl for over thirteen years, this re-issue is pressed on high quality virgin vinyl and packaged with an artworked inner sleeve and a free download card. 

Brokeback is Douglas McCombs. Douglas may be familiar to many of you as the bassist for Eleventh Dream Day, Tortoise and Pullman. During the last two years Brokeback has released two singles and played numerous live dates throughout the U.S. and Europe. Through Brokeback, Douglas has sought to explore something not as densely structured as his other musical outings with a focus on rhythm and texture. The idea with Brokeback is to keep things simple and let the melodies hang in the air. By the nature of this decision the music is sparse, but not without sounding full and realized.

Field Recordings From The Cook County Water Table is the most actualized offering of the Brokeback experience to date, whether it be recorded or live. Field Recordings… features contributions from Noel Kuppersmith (Chicago Underground Orchestra) and Josh Abrams (Sam Prekop Band/Town and Country), whose versatile bass playing helped Douglas achieve the textural depth for this debut and first in-depth documentation of Brokeback. Noel has been a frequent collaborator in Brokeback\'s live setting. Rob Mazurek (Chicago Underground Orchestra/Isotope 217) plays cornet on the opening track, "after the internationals" and Mary Hansen (Stereolab) lends her angelic voice to the song, "the great banks". Both John Herndon and John McEntire contributed their percussive talents, while McEntire handled the recording duties by himself. However at the heart of Brokeback lies the vision and playing of Doug McCombs.

In Douglas' own words: "Brokeback wouldn't exist without the Fender six-string bass. I consider myself a bass player, and though I have dabbled with slide instruments (lap steel and dobro) I was never really interested in moving into the higher register until I became aware of this instrument and its perfect blend of twang and low tone. I began planning this album years before I could even afford to purchase one. It may seem ridiculous to give so much credit to the instrument, but most of these melodies practically wrote themselves, and they were exactly what I wanted."



  • 1 After the Internationals
  • 2 Returns to the Orange Grove
  • 3 The Field Code
  • 4 This is Where We Sleep
  • 5 Another Routine Day Breaks
  • 6 We Let the "S" Hang in the Air
  • 7 The Wilson Ave. Bridge at the Chicago River, 1953
  • 8 The Flat Curving
  • 9 A Blueprint
  • 10 Seiche 2
  • 11 The Great Banks
  • 12 Sometimes a Cold Rain Can Push Down on the Back of Your Head

Related Albums