090 900


Thrill Jockey
thrill 090 - 2001

Viewfinder was Pullman's second album originally released in 2001.  The vinyl edition has been out of print for well over a decade.  This 2015 re-issue for Record Store Day is pressed on virgin vinyl and presented in a jacket that fully replicates the original art.  Included for the first time is a free download card.  The vinyl edition of Viewfinder contains an entire side of bonus material that has never been available on the CD or digital versions.  For this album Pullman was Doug McCombs (Tortoise, Eleventh Dream Day, Brokeback), Bundy K. Brown (Tortoise, Directions In Music), Chris Brokaw (Come, Codeine), Curtis Harvey (Rex), and Tim Barnes (The Tower Recordings).

Limited to 1,000 copies worldwide

Pullman formed several years ago as a result of a common interest in acoustic music by Chris Brokaw (Come), Curtis Harvey (Rex, The Letter E), Ken Brown (Directions) and Doug McCombs (Tortoise, Brokeback, Eleventh Dream Day). Their first album, Turnstyles & Junkpiles, was recorded live to 2-track and entirely acoustic; released in the fall of 1998, the album was enthusiastically greeted by press and fans alike. On Viewfinder, Pullman have broadened their sonic palette by adding drummer Tim Barnes (Jim O'Rourke) and incorporating electric instruments for the first time. This is shown to great affect on "Wire and One Good Shoe" where the electric and acoustic guitars weave a brilliant tapestry of melody that does not betray Pullman's affinity for rustic soundscapes. "Same Grain With New Wood" starts off with a rolling acoustic pattern that soon gives way to percussion, feedback and steel guitar that reveal a sweeping expanse, heretofore only hinted at on prior Pullman recordings. In the past, Pullman pursued a simpler, more bucolic vision that was in many ways a reaction to the prevailing approaches used by some of the other groups with whom they worked. With Viewfinder, Pullman have begun to embrace some of the sounds one might associate with the member's other projects. 



  • 1 Same Grain With New Wood
  • 2 Delta One
  • 3 Or, Otherwise
  • 4 Forty Fingers
  • 5 Flt
  • 6 Hatah
  • 7 Isla Mujeres
  • 8 Chicken Smoked Blanket
  • 9 Bookends
  • 10 Felucca
  • 11 Quantum Mechanic
  • 12 Narrow Canyon
  • 13 Street Light
  • 14 Wire And One Good Shoe
  • 15 Brewster Road

Related Albums