217 1800

Heads on Fire

  • LP Out of stock
  • MP3 Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 217 - 2009

White Hills' debut Thrill Jockey release Heads on Fire (2009) is back in a limited pressing of only 200 copies.

LP is pressed on black vinyl with white labels, packaged in an uncoated stock jacket with double sided insert and download coupon.

With just the right blend of psychedelia and hypnotic grooves, White Hills weaves in and out of anthemic chants, deep space bleeps and other worldly madness for a mix that proves to be intoxicating. Since the release of the band’s debut album, listeners have been praising their originality and unique brand of heavy space rock.

White Hills formed out of the need to forge Space Rock into the 21st Century.

The band was founded by Dave W. who has since augmented the group with two new members; Ego Sensation on bass and Bob Bellomo on drums. This line up has seen the band play with most of Americas purveyors of underground rock including Awesome Color (Ecstatic Peace), La Otracina (Holy Mountain), Titan (Tee Pee Records) and Plastic Crimewave Sound.

In the summer of 2005, Julian Cope released a remixed version of the band’s debut on his Fuck Off & Di label, titled They’ve Got Blood Like We’ve Got Blood. This limited edition release featured extended versions of the tracks as well as re-sequencing/editing and added instrumentation by Julian himself. Following this release Mr Cope flew White Hills to London to support him at a huge show at Koko.

White Hills released two highly acclaimed albums in 2007, Glitter Glamour Atrocity (self released on White Hills Music) and Heads on Fire (released by the UK label Rocket Recordings). Thrill Jockey is very proud to be bringing this release to the vinyl format for the first time.

Ever changing and always striving to push the envelope, Heads on Fire finds the band playing a heavier style of spacerock as compared to their previous releases. Relentless and punishing, the album kicks off with the spacey swirl of the song “Radiate” and ends with the speedladen blast of the track “Eternity”. Along the way, a mesmerising blend of fuzz/wah guitar growl, pounding bass, sprawling synth, and chaotic drumming doses one’s head three sheets to the wind. Whether it be the mere one minute track “Return of Speed Toilet” or the 26 plus minute “Don’t Be Afraid”, the listener will be taken on a ride through a world that is all encompassing from beginning to end.

The band is constantly playing shows in the US and is about to embark on another extensive tour of Europe. Last year the band self-released a vinyl-only album of new material entitled A Little Bliss Forever. Rocket Recordings has just released a limited edition split LP entitled Collisions V.01 which features White Hills and The Heads. White Hills is currently working on new material for release on Thrill Jockey in late 2009/early 2010.


  • 1 Radiate
  • 2 Oceans of Sound
  • 3 Return of Speed Toilet
  • 4 Visions of the Past, Present and Future
  • 5 Don't Be Afraid
  • 6 Eternity