61okwhd2dcl ss500

Vol. 1

  • CD Out of stock
  • LP Out of stock

HOLY21345589 - 2008

CD version in digipack. LP version includes free download coupon.

The Wooden Shjips' earliest material was released on vinyl, pressed in small quantities that were either free or hard to come by and are now hopelessly out of print. Who are we to keep you away from the rush of "Shrinking Moon for You"? Vol. 1 collects all the tracks from the free 10-inch, the Dance, California 7-inch, and the SOL 7-inch.

The band will be out playing live, in their own nimble way, this spring and summer, road-testing new material for their next record.

 "... [T]ight-wound repeato psych guitar raunch with spoony (maybe even imaginary) percussion, surprisingly Rev-like keys, and vocals buried under burning driftwood. It's a nice one." --Byron Coley, The Wire

"Like fellow locals Comets on Fire or English space rockers Hawkwind or Spaceman 3, Wooden Shjips' magic is created by a mix of pummeling hypnotic grooves and otherworldly guitar that sounds like Hendrix strung out in a methadone clinic." --Andy Tennille, HARP

"'Dance, California' locks onto a three-note, twangy, nuclear beach groove and hangs out there for the duration, guitar slashery (in the single-note sweepstakes for a good long while) shooting over the top like artillery fire. On the other side, an atmospheric, slow drone and steady pulse frame blistery lead and what's that, vocals? Oh, so nice, and sounding more like the new incarnation of F/i with each listen." --Doug Mosurak, Dusted



  • 1 Shrinking Moon for You
  • 2 Death's Not Your Friend
  • 3 Space Clothes
  • 4 Clouds Over Earthquake
  • 5 Dance, California (Radio Edit)
  • 6 SOL '07

Related Albums