391 lp front 400
391 lp back 400
391 lp innersleevef 400
391 lp innersleeveb 400
391 lplabel a 400
391 lplabel b 400

Walks For Motorists

  • LP (CLEAR w/BLACK) + BONUS 12" Out of stock
  • CD / $11.00 Add to Cart
  • MP3 / $9.00 Add to Cart
  • LP Out of stock

Thrill Jockey
Thrill 391 - 2015

LP version pressed on virgin vinyl and packaged in a high gloss jacket with spot varnish, artworked inner sleeve and free download coupon. For a limited time all mailorder customers ordering the vinyl edition will get an exclusive color of vinyl (clear vinyl with black streaks) AND Drives For Pedestrians, a bonus 12"EP featuring 30 minutes of exclusive unreleased material packaged in it's own jacket with bootleg style cover sticker.  CD version in 4 panel mini-LP style gatefold package with spot varnish printing and inner sleeve.  

White Hills are proponents of psychedelia as transformation. The music made by Dave W. and Ego Sensation is risky and cutting edge, rooted in dystopian futurism and hyper-conscious of society’s constant desire for a new and better drug. That progressive aesthetic is at the heart of White Hills’newest album Walks For Motorists, a radically stripped-down record that emphasizes rhythm and groove. The album bursts forth with a new kind of intensity, one born out of laser-focused precision and detail-oriented songwriting. Possibly surprising to fans familiar with the Hawkwindian guitar squall of earlier albums, the songs on Walks For Motorists began as a keyboard melody or bass line, and several songs on the album don’t even feature guitar at all. This is propulsive, open music, surreal to its core but made to inspire people to get out of their seats and move. 

Walks For Motorists was recorded with David Wrench (Caribou, Bear in Heaven, FKA Twigs, Owen Pallet) at Bryn Derwen Recording Studio in Bethesda, Wales which borders the Snowdonia National Forest.  The band had 24-hour access to the studio, which allowed them to work whenever inspiration struck. Wrench’s expertise producing and mixing electronic music was an essential asset when perfecting the crisp tones heard throughout the record. This is the first album the band has recorded outside of New York City, and the vast, rolling Welsh landscape that surrounded the studio influenced the album’s uncluttered sound. Walks For Motorists is alsoWhite Hills’ most diverse album to date. Fuzzed-out rockers sit comfortably next to kraut-infused grooves, and there are more vocal contributions from Ego than ever before. 

White Hills has been developing an entirely new live set focusing on new music, and will be playing many major festivals in 2015, including Roadburn, Primavera, and ATP Iceland. As anyone who has seen the band knows, they can command stages both gargantuan and intimate, and are one of the most legendary live acts in psychedelic rock today. The band’s relentless touring of the US and Europe has gained them a massive grassroots following worldwide, and even more touring is planned throughout 2015.



  • 1 No Will
  • 2 £SD or USB
  • 3 Wanderlust
  • 4 Lead the Way
  • 5 I, Nomad
  • 6 We Are What You Are
  • 7 Automated City
  • 8 Life Is Upon You
  • 9 Walks For Motorists